What are the Chakras?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word which literally translates into a spinning wheel. The seven major chakras or energy centers are located along our spine. Each Chakra is associated with a colour and a certain part of our body. When the energy of the chakra is balanced and in alignment, our physical, emotional and spiritual bodies experience optimal health.

Root ChakraRoot Chakra – Color: Red. Located at the base of our spine, the root chakra relates to our basic human instinct for survival, security and stability.

Sacral ChakraSacral Chakra – Color: Orange. Located just below our navel in our lower abdominal region, the sacral chakra relates to reproduction on a physical level, creativity and joy and relationships on an emotional level and our energy and passions on a spiritual level.

Solar Plexus ChakraSolar Plexus Chakra – Color: Yellow. Located above our navel and directly in our stomach area, the solar plexus chakra is associated with our personal growth and intellect, our personal power, and spiritual evolution.

Heart ChakraHeart Chakra – Color: Green. Located in the centre of the chest, the heart chakra relates to unconditional love, compassion and wellbeing, as well as our ability to forgive - others and ourselves.

Throat ChakraThroat Chakra – Color: Sky Blue. Located at the base of the neck, the throat chakra governs our ability to express and communicate clear thoughts and ideas, as well as speak our truth with integrity and courage.

Third Eye ChakraThird Eye Chakra – Color: Indigo Blue. Located at the center of our forehead, between our eyebrows, the third eye taps into our inner guidance or intuition.

Crown ChakraCrown Chakra – Color: Violet. Located at the top of our head or in the crown area, the crown chakra relates to our connection to the Divine and our infinite connection to those around us.